“Trust thyself: every heart vibrates to that iron string.”

I love that quote.  It’s Emerson.  The “iron string”–unbreakable.  Such is the strength of people who have what it takes to listen to it.  I was thinking about this line last night.  I had dinner with a young sales manager.  I’ve written about him before.  Pretty sure he knows who he is.  He’s a good guy.

There’s a lot that goes in to assuming a new role–in life, in work–all that unfamiliarity and potentially creeping doubt that it’s just not the right fit.  Sometimes it’s not.  I’ve been there.  But most of the time your gut steers you pretty straight.  Success becomes a matter of inner confidence (and a few good friends and mentors).  But more than that it’s just the confidence to listen, deeply, to what your heart is telling you to do.  Then do it.  There will be ups and downs but your inner voice, clear and confident, will guide you.  There’s truth inside each of us.  

A funny thing happened last week.  Some guy I’ve never met slammed me on Facebook.  It’s ridiculous to even think about this.  But I guess he thinks we’re competitors.  He focuses on contractor selling.  For whatever reason he felt like he needed to say my clients were slumming because they we were working together.  Sort of a dick move on his part.  What does his “iron string” say to him?  That it’s better to be a petty little bother than elevate the discussion to a better place?  It felt weird.  I’ve never had a person openly (let alone on a social platform) toss out a dig so freely.  My iron string says “Thank you.”  It’s a compliment.  But I know where I’m going and it vibrates as truly as ever.  

Onward friends.  Onward!

One response

  1. Sort of a dick move on his part. What does his “iron string” say to him? That it’s better to be a petty little bother than elevate the discussion to a better place? It felt weird. I’ve never had a person openly (let alone on a social platform) toss out a dig so freely.

    You wrote this, did you read it? :-/

    Bill

    >

Leave a Reply

